Stop Press Road Racing

Auckland Motorcycle Club MEDIA RELEASE 2 March, 2018.

Titles decided in the 2017-18 Auckland Motorcycle Club Series: 


It was a hot and humid day of racing to close out the 2017-18 AMCC Club Series at Hampton Downs last Sunday, with the double-points finale throwing up the expected surprises in several classes.


Alastair Hoogenboezem took three dominant victories in Superbike, to secure that Club title; but back in the Senior field there was some spirited dicing going on – notably between Brendon Coad, Toby Summers and the surprise entry of 2015 NZ Superbike champion Jaden Hassan, out for a run on brother Aaron’s 600 Suzuki.

Hassan secured three wins in the Supersport class, and the double-points secured him the Club title for that category on the strength of those performances.


Brendon Coad secured the Superstock 1000 title, having taken seven wins from eight starts over the season.


Another demonstrating an exceptional level of dominance was Nathanael Diprose in Superlite; unbeaten all Club season on the 450 Suzuki, to head-off class stalwart Gavin Veltmeyer.


Matt Dunlop was winning at the right end of the season, and scored the Pro Twin 650 title by a slender 17 points from Liam Underwood, with former National champion Ben Rosendaal in third.


Rounding out the Intermediate category was the 125GP class, and Nicki Smith leveraged the double points to sweep to three wins and the Club title for the season.


In Junior, Gavin Veltmeyer took out Lightweight on his 390 KTM, while the 250 class becomes more competitive by the meeting.

Nick Burke and Jacob Stroud continue to set the standard, but Grant Cullen, Sean White, Michael Patchett and Jesse Stroud all made a mark.

Jacob Stroud secured the 250 Prolite Club title – by just five points - but the Hyosung Cup still has a Round to go, running at the Mike Pero Motofest at Hampton Downs this weekend.


Consistency won the Lawrance Brothers another sidecar Club title. On the podium in every race, they took four wins over the season.

While rounding out the classes were the various Post Classic classes, and the Clubman’s field providing entry-level riders a safe introduction to the sport.


The 2017-2018 Series was organised and promoted by the Auckland Motorcycle Club – who acknowledge all our valuable partners for the season:-


The Lion Foundation, Barnes-Jenkins Insurance Brokers, Carl Cox Motorsport, Castrol, Colemans Suzuki, Counties Honda, Darbi Accessories, Hyosung NZ, Motomail, Mr Motorcycles, Nationwide Accessories, Northern Accessories, Protecta Insurance, Spectrum Motorcycles, and Red Baron – along with CTAS and MX Timing.


Till next season ….

2017-2018 AMCC Club Series Points - FINAL:

Points – Senior: SUPERBIKE

215 Alastair Hoogenboezem

120 Daniel Mettam

104 SJ Cavell

Points – Senior: SUPERSPORT 600

150 Jaden Hassan

80 Toby Summers

75 David Hall

Points – Senior: SUPERSTOCK 1000

270 Brendon Coad

205 Adrian Clare

16 Karl Christensen

Points – Senior: PRO TWIN OPEN

50 Steve Bridge

Points – Intermediate: SUPERLITE

275 Nathanael Diprose

170 Gavin Veltmeyer

148 Scott Findlay

Points – Intermediate: PRO TWIN 650

212 Matt Dunlop

195 Liam Underwood

162 Ben Rosendaal

Points – Intermediate: 125ccGP

184 Nicki Smith

102 Jason Hearn

57 Chris Malcolm


210 Gavin Veltmeyer

182 Alistair Wilton

112 Dean Watson

Points – Junior: 250 PRO LITE

199 Jacob Stroud

194 Nick Burke

153 Sean White

Points – CARL COX MOTORSPORT HYOSUNG CUP: (1 Round remaining)

872 Jacob Stroud

693 Nick Burke

684 Michael Patchett

Points – PRE 72 JUNIOR

100 John Comer

Points – PRE 82 SENIOR

225 Matthew Ineson

40 Russell Barker

40 David Oyden

Points – PRE 82 JUNIOR

200 Alistair Wilton

174 Graeme Ogle

98 Phil Oades

Points – PRE 89 F1

236 Phil Duxbury

186 SJ Cavell

85 Mark Wigley

Points – PRE 89 F2

250 Nigel Lennox

132 Nick Brown

112 Tony Ashdown

Points – PRE 89 F3

70 Steve Collingwood

25 Mark Robinson

Points – PRE 95 F2

275 Graham Moorhead

Points – PRE 95 F3

100 Nick Olson

95 Ray Waring

50 Finn Webster


227 Chris Lawrance / Richard Lawrance

191 David McArthur / Tony New

187 Mark Halls / Neville Mickelson


210 Selby Inkster

115 Jonathan Skyrme

50 Aaron Lowe


275 Amy Thurston


(35) Brendon Coad, (14) Jaden Hassan, (77) Toby Summers put on a great show in Senior

Credit: Philip Kavermann



Is it the Mike Webb from New Zealand??

I saw on an FIM Media Release about Moto3 technical information applications, see the FIM & World Championship page, the FIM Technical Director is Mike Webb, so sent him a note to ask. Here is the answer

Certainly is the same one!

It's good to hear from you again, and to know you are still in touch with the FIM information.

I've been MotoGP Technical Director for 10 years now, I took over from Jack Findlay when he retired.

Prior to that I worked as crew chief for the factory Yamaha team, first when it was run by Wayne Rainey then later when Yamaha Japan took it over again.

And before that for a privateer Yamaha 500cc team run by a near neighbour of yours Peter Clifford, so it's been 20 years or more since I was in the motorcycle industry in NZ... wow 20 years!

Next year I take over from our retiring Race Director in MotoGP.

I had a quick look at the website, very interesting. Particularly the upcoming Mini MotoGP where the school kids race the bikes they built themselves, I didn't k now that existed in NZ.

We hope to hear more from Mike as soon as he returns to his base in Andorra, where he can give us a then & now update.

Now go to "Stop Press" >> & click on "A Kiwi at the top of MotoGP" for much more. 

Oh & by the way he knows about Avalon Biddle competing as a wild card in the 125 Class at Phillip Island next weekend, & hopefully will talk to her.